Top Stories For You

IPL T’20 Memorable Moments Of The Last Tournament


Australia defeated New Zealand by eight wickets to win the IPL, T20 World Cup. This is Australia’s first global trophy in cricket’s shortest format, to add to their already filled cabinet of ICC silverware that includes five 50-over World Cups and two Champions Trophy victories. It was a successful tournament, despite the challenges occasioned by the pandemic.

IPL T’20 Memorable Moments With Unique Team 

IPL T'20 Memorable Moments With Unique Team 

Notably, in the NBA, the Lakers have successfully developed unique team bonding strategies to retain team harmony, which continues to be replicated in other sports, including cricket. Click here to learn some team bonding strategies.

Back to the cricket world, the just-concluded IPL T20 World Cup created some memorable moments for fans worldwide. We look at some of the tournament’s most memorable moments worth writing home:

1. Fantastic Foursome

In a qualifier, Curtis Campher got four wickets in four deliveries to lead Ireland to a seven-wicket victory against the Netherlands. 

As the Netherlands were dismissed for 106, Campher claimed a hat-trick and then struck again, returning 4-26. After Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan and Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga in 2019, Campher became the best third bowler in the International history of IPL T20 after taking four wickets in four deliveries.

2. Pakistan Ends India Hoodoo

Pakistan demolished India by ten wickets to win their maiden IPL T20 World Cup match against their arch-rivals. Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan were in top form as they both helped their team to a win despite still having 13 balls left to play. 

Despite a brave 57 from skipper Virat Kohli, left-hand fast Shaheen Shah Afridi was setting up the conquest, Pakistan’s first over their opponents in six attempts in the event, with formations of 3-31 that reduced India to 151-7.

3. De Kock On Taking The Knee

Quinton de Kock ruled himself out of South Africa’s match against the West Indies, apparently after he refused to take the knee. 

The 28-year-surprising old’s decision came just hours after IPL Cricket South Africa (CSA) asked all of its players in the event to participate in an anti-racism gesture. Two days later, De Kock apologized and said he’d be pleased to join the rest of the squad in taking a stand.

He released a statement following widespread backlash and insisted he would be at the forefront of taking the knee in the future would mean educating others and improving their lives.

4. Kohli’s Fury At Disrespectful Trolls

Virat Kohli, India’s captain, issued a scorching assault on “spineless” and “pathetic” supporters, saving special venom for those who blamed the loss to Pakistan on Mohammed Shami, the team’s lone Muslim player. 

He said it was wrong to target someone because of their religion, terming it inhuman.

India were the favorites heading into the tournament but lost to New Zealand in the quarterfinals, failing to make it to the last four.

5. Buttler In A Class Of His Own

In the IPL T20, 26-run victory over Sri Lanka, England made it four wins in a row as Jos Buttler struck his first World Cup century. 

England reached 163 for four because of Buttler’s undefeated 101. Buttler struck six fours and six sixes in his 67-ball innings to become the first player to score 100 in all three formats.

6. Watch Out For Hasaranga

Despite their elimination in the Super 12 round, the young Sri Lanka team will be touted as a possible IPL World Cup champion in Australia in 2022. 

Wanindu Hasaranga, their leg-spinner all-rounder, shone with 16 wickets at sub ten runs per wicket.

7. The Last Of The West Indies generation?

West Indies captain Kieron Pollard lamented the “end of a generation” as Dwayne Bravo announced his retirement from international cricket, with Chris Gayle looking set to follow suit. 

In their last group game, the defending IPL champions West Indies were upset by Australia by eight wickets, their fourth loss in five games. Bravo, 38, and Gayle, 42, were both accorded a guard of honor by the Australian players in Abu Dhabi. Gayle was a member of the 2012 and 2016 T20 title-winning squads.

8. Rizwan The Hero

Despite coming straight from hospital following chest complications, Pakistan’s Mohammad Rizwan was the top scorer with 67 in the semi-final defeat to eventual champions Australia.

According to Pakistan’s team doctor, Rizwan had been admitted to the ICU for two nights after developing a chest infection. 

Luckily, his recovery was smooth, and he was given the go-ahead to join in with the rest of the team, where he would go on and become one of the star performers for his IPL national team.

Australia’s First T20

Mitchell Marsh hit an unmatched 77 as Australia trounced New Zealand by eight wickets to win their maiden IPL T20 World Cup, with captain Aaron Finch hailing the victory as “huge.”

Australia needed a 92-run second-wicket partnership between David Warner (53), the player of the series, and Marsh to hit their target with seven balls to spare.

Read Also:


Sumona is the publisher for RSLOnline. Besides her professional commitments, she is also used to spending time sharing sentient blogs regarding topics like Technology, Business, fashion, fitness, and more. Follow more of her contributions in SmartBusinessDaily and FollowtheFashion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *